The time to bury our differences for a day is now.  Arizona "Tea Party and conservatives" have announced a protest action at Sen. John McCain's home office in Tuscon.  They demand the elimination of the provisions passed by the Senate last Thursday, in the National Defense Authorization Act, which allows for the indefinite military detention of Americans without charge or trial.  McCain and Sen. Carl Levin (D-MI) are the lead co-sponsors of the proposed law.  

Date & location: Monday, December 5, 2011; 4:00 - 6:00pm; SW corner of Speedway and Campbell, Tucson, Arizona.

The office of every senator who voted for this could use a visit, which means all of them except the Patriot 7 who voted no: Jeff Merkley [D], Tom Harkin [D], Ron Wyden [D], Thomas Coburn, [R], Mike Lee [R], Rand Paul [R], and Bernie Sanders [I].

The Christian Science Monitor reported on the bill last Saturday:

   

"Legislation passed by the Senate this week and headed for the House – and a possible presidential veto – could allow the US military to detain American citizens indefinitely.

    The National Defense Authorization Act covering $662 billion in defense spending for the next fiscal year includes a provision requiring military custody of a terror suspect believed to be a member of Al Qaeda or its affiliates and involved in attacks on the United States. A last minute amendment allows the president to waive the authority based on national security and to hold a terror suspect in civilian rather than military custody. But the bill would deny US citizens suspected of being terrorists the right to trial, subjecting them to indefinite detention, and civil libertarians say the amendment essentially is meaningless.

    “This bill puts military detention authority on steroids and makes it permanent,” Christopher Anders, senior legislative counsel of the American Civil Liberties Union, said in a statement. “If it becomes law, American citizens and others are at real risk of being locked away by the military without charge or trial.”

The Arizona Tea Party and conservatives press release reads:

   

"Tea Party Patriots and Conservatives Protest Senator John McCain's National Defense Authorization Act in His Home Turf, Tucson, Arizona"

    "Tucson, AZ, December 02, 2011 --(PR.com)-- "Tea Party patriots, conservatives, and Republicans in Senator John McCain's district take a stand for liberty," says Jeff Bales, organizer of a Tea Party inspired protest scheduled for Monday in Tucson, Arizona. The protest addresses Senator John McCain, co-author of the recently passed National Defense Authorization Act. Similar protests are scheduled to be held by conservatives in various locations in the United States.

    Organized at: http://www.facebook.com/...

    Date & location: Monday, December 5, 2011; 4:00 - 6:00pm; SW corner of Speedway and Campbell, Tucson, Arizona.

    The National Defense Authorization Act allows for any U.S. citizen to be held by U.S. military for an indefinite period of time, with no Constitutional due process. The Senate Armed Services Committee, led by Senators Carl Levin (D-Michigan) and John McCain (R-Arizona), approved the bill with provisions for military detention of any suspect. That includes citizens in the United States, accused of involvement (no proof needed) in terror-related offenses. In Mr. Bales' opinion, military detention could include citizens accused of simply lying to a federal agent, unrelated to actual terrorism but classified as related to terrorism.

    "Many protesters scheduled to participate in Monday's Arizona-based event are Republicans and conservatives that refuse to accept the progressive, big-government agenda established by their Republican Senator, John McCain. When it comes to personal liberty and violation of every citizen’s Constitutional rights, Republicans are willing to take a stand against one of their own if a major mistake has been made," says the protest's host, Jeff Bales, a Member-at-Large of the Pima County GOP Executive Committee."

RECALLS OF U.S. SENATORS

18 states have public official recall laws.  A few, like Rhode Island, specifically exclude federal officials, although this can be changed by the state legislature, and recall laws can be passed by the states. AZ has laws where you can recall anybody. Laws governing recall are defined in Article 8 of the Arizona Constitution.  According to Ballotpedia:

"The authority to conduct a recall election in Arizona applies to "Every public officer in the state of Arizona, holding an elective office, either by election or appointment." A recall can be filed against any public officer on any grounds."

Arizona recall petition draft HERE.

More generally, recall of federal officials is a relatively untested area of law, with only a few vulnerable test cases so far, like Idaho. The ultimate basis for recall of senators and congressmen is the Tenth Amendment. Although recall of federal elected officials is not provided for in the Constitution, the Tenth states:

   "The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people."

Proponents of recall laws for federal offices argue that if the Founders meant to prohibit such laws, it would have been clearly stated in the Constitution.  Instead the Constitution says that all powers not expressly prohibited by the Constitution are reserved to the states and to the people.

A legislative history is HERE.

 We are all just Americans now.

 

--------------------

UPDATE

MEDIA KIT

All News Media Covering Up NDAA S.1867

Cut and past the National News Media emails in the lists below into your
outgoing email box and send them this .

------------------------------------------------------
Why ? Are You Not Reporting on this Very Important Change in U.S.
Federal Government policy toward it's U.S. Citizens that used to be that
under the U.S. Constitution that Citizens could Not be arrested by the
U.S.Military, But now they can and with No Charges and held Indefinitely
!

Senate Passes NDAA S.1867-"93 to 7" (Including Section 1031)
Allowing the U.S. Military to arrest U.S. Citizens without charges and
hold them indefinitely without the Right to a Trial, Making America a
Police State ! See & Pass these links on if you value Freedom
http://community-2.webtv.net/...
http://www.google.com/...
http://www.google.com/...

------------------------------------------------------

It could Not hurt to add a few Choice words of your own to the emails.
Possibly letting them know that in the Pledge all Americans take in
going into the military, Becoming police officers and becoming elected
officials that goes.
Paraphrased
"I swear to defend the U.S. Constitution against All enemies Foreign or
Domestic.

That passing DNAA S.1867 has made the U.S. Government The Domestic
Enemy and do they want to be a Domestic Enemy also ?

You can separate these into shorter lists if you want to.

netaudr@abc.com, stossel@abc.com, abcsuggestions-l@list2.starwave.com,
niteline@abc.com,
netaudr@abc.com,
WNN@abc.com,
weekend@abc.com, 48hours@cbsnews.com, 60II@cbsnews.com, ftn@cbsnews.com,
sundays@cbsnews.com, weekends@cbsnews.com, jeff.newsstand@cnn.com,
friends@foxnews.com, comments@foxnews.com, beltway@foxnews.com,
special@foxnews.com, theedge@foxnews.com, foxreport@foxnews.com,
fullnelson@foxnews.com, Letters@MSNBC.COM, equaltime@msnbc.com,
feedback@msnbc.com, hardball@msnbc.com, homepage@msnbc.com,
Imus@MSNBC.com, Internight@MSNBC.com, opinion@msnbc.com,
specialedition@msnbc.com, TheNews@MSNBC.com, MTP@NBC.com,
Nightly@NBC.com, letters@nypost.com, POSTLETTERS@NYPOst.com,
editor@nytimes.com, natweb@nytimes.com, webnews@washpost.com,
general@washtimes.com, netaudr@abc.com

2020@abc.com (ABC 20/20), netaudr@abc.com (ABC Good Morning America),
johnstossel@abc.com (ABC John Stossel Reporting), abc@abcnews.com (ABC
News), niteline@abc.com (ABC Nightline), 48hours@cbsnews.com (CBS 48
Hours), 60m@cbsnews.com (CBS 60 min), 60II@cbsnews.com (CBS 60 min II),
ftn@cbsnews.com (CBS FACE THE NATION), uttm@cbs.com (CBS-UTTM),
jburns@cnsnews.com (CNS), priestd@washpost.com (Dana Priest Washington
Post), boehlert@salon.com (Eric Boehlert Salon), beltway@foxnews.com
(FOX NEWS), tomrose@jpost.co.il (J Post), editor@japantoday.com (JAPAN
TODAY), jjohnson@cnsnews.com (Jeff Johnson CNS NEWS), ckloss@hearst.com
(KETV &xC5;(ABC-7&xC5;)), garysadlemyer@hotmail.com (KFAB Radio),
news@kmtv3.com (KMTV-3 CBS), mcateerm@washpost.com (Martha
McAteer),letters@newsday.com (NEWSDAY), letters@nypost.com (NY POST
EDITOR), editor@nytimes.com (NY TIMES EDITOR), pulse@owh.com (Omaha
World-Herald), oreilly@foxnews.com (O'Reilly),
observer@guardianunlimited.co.uk (Sunder Katwala Editor UK Observer),
andrew.badenoch@guardian.co.uk (Andrew Badenoch Editor, UK
Obs./Guardian), shiraz.lalani@mirror.co.uk (UK Mirror),
safire@nytimes.com (Wm. Safire), krugman@nytimes.com (Krugman),
cshaw@nypost.com (C Shaw), nightly@nbc.com (Tom Brokaw),
hannity@foxnews.com (Sean Hannity), rush@eibnet.com (Rush Limbaugh),
news@worldnetdaily.com, comments@msnbc.com (MSNBC News),
bac@cis.compuserve.com (Ken Hamblin), myword@foxnews.com (John Gibson),
Joe@msnbc.com (Joe Scarborough), Hardball@msnbc.com (Hardball),
potent357@aol.com (G. Gordon Liddy), Comments@foxnews.com (Fox News),
Colmes@foxnews.com (Alan Colmes), thisweek@abc.com (This week),
agathright@sfchronicle.com (Alan Gathright SF Chronical),
gaither@globe.com